Photo
- - - - -

Alpha-Lipoic Acid and urine odour

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 JohnDoe999

• 128 posts

Posted 09 December 2009 - 09:43 AM

I've been using ALA from various producers for about 2 years.

The strength has been from 50 mg to 275 mg.

The first urination after taking ALA always has a certain odour. The odour is the same independent of producer.

With my current product, which is composed of 50 % R-ALA and 50 % S-ALA, the odour is also often attached to the second urination

Based on correspondence with one of the manufacturers, I am informed that ALA does not usually produce any odour.

Am I the only one having this reaction?

Is this in any way bad? I just thought that what was "too much" for the body was washed out through the urine.....

#2 KimberCT

• 472 posts

Posted 09 December 2009 - 02:33 PM

Hmmmm, I think I've noticed the same thing since starting ALA. I remember thinking to myself, "Why does my piss smell like a fish tank?".

sponsored ad

• Advert
Click HERE to rent this advertising spot for SUPPLEMENTS (in thread) to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 JohnDoe999

• Topic Starter
  • 128 posts

Posted 09 December 2009 - 07:43 PM

Hmmmm, I think I've noticed the same thing since starting ALA. I remember thinking to myself, "Why does my piss smell like a fish tank?".

He,he. Yes, that could describe the odour ;)

#4 niner

• 16,276 posts

Posted 09 December 2009 - 09:11 PM

Well, ALA is a sulfur compound. No telling what if anything it's metabolized to, but sulfur compounds can be on the smelly side. Different people will occasionally metabolize the same compound in different ways.

#5 aim1

• 102 posts

Posted 09 December 2009 - 09:25 PM

Got aspargus?

#6 kurt9

• 256 posts

Posted 09 December 2009 - 09:58 PM

I've noticed this as well. I think this is normal for ALA.

Edited by kurt9, 09 December 2009 - 09:59 PM.

#7 donjoe

• 153 posts

Posted 25 February 2010 - 08:40 PM