- - - - -

Supplements for Aspergers? +An experience I had

aspergers

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 basicallyyes

• 36 posts

Posted 16 August 2017 - 05:18 PM

I'm not good at creating short posts but I'll do my best to explain my situation in the shortest amount of words also while explaining an experience that happened to me which has led me here

I was diagnosed with Aspergers at a young age, I won't go into the details so as not to derail myself into a separate conversation but my parents did not agree with the diagnosis and took me to other doctors with mixed diagnosis. I think because I was considered to be on a higher functioning end of Aspergers the entire situation was swept under the rug, I suspect possibly due to egotistical influences on my parents part from not wanting to have a child with Aspergers. 

Because of my young age the entire question of whether or not I had Aspergers (or even what it was) was ignored by me for years, it wasn't until I was in my Jr or Senior year in high school that I started questioning things. I actually came to my own conclusion that I may have something "wrong" with me, and when I brought it up to my parents this is when they mentioned that I was at one time diagnosed with Aspergers. To me this was too much of a coincidence, I had completely forgotten that this diagnosis had even occurred yet came to the same general conclusion on my own several years later.

I want to make it a point to explain that for me, Aspergers is very misunderstood. People mostly understand this by characters they have seen portrayed in television shows. I do not stand out in a glaring way that I have something wrong with me, and unless you are educated in this area you probably wouldn't notice anything particularly "wrong" with me; I drew these conclusions because of an experience I had where I literally felt like a different human for several days in a row.