* * * * * 1 votes

Battle of the Thiamines

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Lufega

• 1,810 posts
  • NO

Posted 15 November 2008 - 08:44 AM

I am interested in the use of thiamine derivatives for the treatment of Dysautonomia or autonomia system dysfunction. Working through terrible "brain fog", I read the works of Dr. Derrick Lonsdale on using B1 to treat this. He believes the use of allithiamines which are fat soluble derivatives of B1 serves this purpose a lot better than ordinary thiamine salts. So, I assumed Benfotiamine was the best choice. I've been using it for a few months and while I have seen minor improvements, such as less tremors in my hands, I have not noticed more pronounced effects as I was expecting. I just re-read the two articles and it seems there's a better form of fat soluble B1 than benfotiamine. I searched the forum but only found a couple of scant references.

Thiamine's Mood-Mending Qualities

http://www.newhope.c...99/thiamine.cfm

Dysautonomia, A Heuristic Approach to a Revised Model for Etiology of Disease
http://ecam.oxfordjo...t/full/nem064v1

A Review of the Biochemistry, Metabolism and Clinical Benefits of Thiamin(e) and Its Derivatives

http://ecam.oxfordjo...abstract/3/1/49

Thiamine tetrahydrofurfuryl disulfi de: a little known therapeutic agent

http://journals.inde....php?ICID=11763