- - - - -

Autoimmune disease and supplementation

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 gomesbs

• 39 posts

Posted 24 October 2009 - 01:01 PM

Hi,

I discovered this site about a year ago and since then I consult it almost daily. I work in finance so I do not understand completely some of the terms.

Anyway, almost 3 years ago I had an anterior uveitis in my left eye, since I'm male, early 30s my doctor said I should check for anquilosant spondylitis or other autoimmune disease. But when I got better from my eye, and since I had no major symptoms (only back discomfort when waking up) I disregarded the doctor's recommendation.

Until last week when what started as I thought was a cold, with low fever and throat pain, turned (2/3 days after) into another uveitis and strong joint/muscular since my neck until my foot, I almost couldn't move. Now I've been taking an ant inflammatory and treating my uveitis and I'm getting better, though I don't understand why I continue with the cold symptoms.

Until last week I was taking only a 50% extract resveratrol (250 mg trans), which I stopped when this happened, and been thinking of switching to a 100%, but as I live in Europe is harder to find a reasonable priced one (plus taxes). I've order some Vitamin D3 too.

Since I probably suffer from a spondyloarthropathy (probably anquilosant spondylithis) is resveratrol recommended? (I've seen the joint pain and resveratrol thread and could not conclude). What about D3 dosage? Should I do the 25-hidroxy test first? What other supplements do you recommend?

Thanks in advance and congratulations for this great site!

#2 youandme

• 255 posts

Posted 25 October 2009 - 02:07 AM

Hi gomesbs

Resveratrol has a lot of research effort ..and some reports suggest it could be useful for some Autoimmune Diseases.
However at least one person previously said his RA got worse.