Photo

My doctor says I have MTHFR gene defect

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 david ellis

• 1,014 posts
  • NO

Posted 28 February 2010 - 07:38 AM

My doctor told me that because I had a low level of histidine(Essential Amino Acid) in my blood that I have folic acid deficiency, the MTHFR gene defect. I am wondering if that is really true because I also have a high histamine level according to my urine neurotransmitter test. I think I have a relatively low histidine blood level because I am making lots of histamine. I don't have the background, I am an accountant, to be confident that I really don't have the MTHFR gene. But I am thinking that the MTHFR deficiency leads to catabolism of histidine resulting in both low histidine and low histamine. What is really happening? Thanks for your help.

#2 jazzcat

• 139 posts

Posted 28 February 2010 - 09:04 AM

MTHFr = histadelia = undermethylation.

You have high histamine levels because you undermethylate. 5MTHF helps because it is a methyl donor (and the active, methylated form of folate). If you supplement methyl donors then your faulty methylation improves.

sponsored ad

• Advert
Click HERE to rent this MEDICINES advertising spot to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 david ellis

• Topic Starter
  • 1,014 posts
  • NO

Posted 28 February 2010 - 03:11 PM

MTHFr = histadelia = undermethylation.

You have high histamine levels because you undermethylate. 5MTHF helps because it is a methyl donor (and the active, methylated form of folate). If you supplement methyl donors then your faulty methylation improves.

Thanks, its good to know that my money and time on methyl folate and cobalmin isn't a waste.

#4 SearchingForAnswers

• 213 posts
  • NO

Posted 29 August 2014 - 04:10 PM

How's this been working out for you? I suspect I have this issue, just ordered the 23andme test so I can find out.

#5 david ellis

• Topic Starter
  • 1,014 posts
  • NO