• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo

What's the best way to learn biogerontology in-depth?

biogerontology aging education immersion

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Vardarac

• 178 posts

Posted 03 June 2014 - 01:24 AM

My background is in biology. I remember the fundamentals of genetics, cell biology, and organic/biochemistry. However, I do not retain much depth in these subjects.

Over the next few years, I intend to comprehensively review them through textbooks and the like, but I know that to further my knowledge and get a bleeding-edge, sharp picture of the field, I need to consult the literature.

Can any current graduate students or postdocs here tell me how best to approach finding and reading research literature purely for broad learning's sake? I have experience with locating/evaluating literature to support a single, focused argument, but not to get a clear, hard understanding of the field's history and its current research questions. I know that reading literature reviews is a great first step in that direction, but what comes beyond that? What else, barring access to lab equipment or study subjects, does one do to become an expert in biogerontology and regenerative medicine?

#2 holdout

• 37 posts

Posted 16 July 2014 - 04:14 AM

Hrrmmm.... I think your best bet would be to ask what you've asked in this post, in e-mails to doctors who lead research groups.  Or reach out to doctors who hit major media in the field of regenerative medicine, or shoot an e-mail to the contact of any such research study you come across, and ask them for their suggestions.  The worst they can say is tell you to go pay $982359820 tuition for university haha.

Click HERE to rent this BIOSCIENCE adspot to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 John Schloendorn

• Guest, Advisor, Guardian
  • 2,542 posts

Posted 16 July 2014 - 06:55 PM