- - - - -

Sudden Complete Insomnia

insomnia sudden insomnia cant fall asleep ambien lunesta

• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 wolfram9999

• 13 posts

Posted 20 June 2014 - 11:03 PM

Hey folks. Newbie here (well, former lurker) with newfound, sudden onset of insomnia.
Male, 32.
Started with feeling increasingly amped up over the course of a week with varying sleep quality. Stopped caffiene. Then, on the night of Sunday 6/1, stopped sleeping entirely. Started feeling myself jump awake (mentally, not physically) when sleep began to come.
Didn't sleep for four days and then got an Ambien prescription, 10 mg. Took it on and off for two weeks...
When it worked, I got 6 hours at max (only twice), or as low as none.
Would not sleep more than an hour at most (sometimes not at all) on the days I didn't take it.
Toward end of second week, stopped working entirely.
This is the third week with no sleep. Saw the doc again on Wednesday and got a new prescription for lunesta, 3mg. First night, worked great. Felt myself falling asleep (unlike ambien which just blacked me out eventually). Felt a little drugged the day after but it was workable. Last night, took 3/4 of the lunesta. Could clearly feel it working but never fell asleep. Mind kept running and wouldn't shut up, same issue as I've had the last three weeks...
History: high blood pressure, taking lisinopril, last 8 months or so.
Testosterone replacement therapy, taking t cypionate, biweekly injections for last 2.5 mounts or so.
Current high or abnormal tests:
T levels now in mid-500s
Estradiol high at 106.
Hematocrit and hemoglobin levels just over normal.
Norepinephrine elevated at 414 (highest end of normal is 444 I think).
Any thoughts or help are appreciated. Going a bit Looney Tunes given I'm working on an average of 1 hr sleep per night these days.

Xposted from introductions thread. Thanks everyone... Appreciate your help!!

#2 wolfram9999

• Topic Starter
  • 13 posts