• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo
- - - - -

1 Serious question about Phenylpiracetam - serotonin, nACh and NMDA receptors. Please actually answer

phenylpiracetam nootropics serotonin receptors

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 NomadWind

• 5 posts

Posted 19 October 2014 - 12:41 PM

Hi guys, so I am new to nootropics (did one month intensive beginner research from scratch and discovered a lot). I discovered Phenylpiracetam - looks to be amazing and powerful and I really want to try it, but then read (from wiki) "In rats, it has been found to decrease the number of nACh and NMDA receptors and increase the density of D1, D2 and D3 receptors." and from another site "Another US review of the literature suggests the same, stating “However, injection of this drug (100 mg/kg, intraperitoneally) to rats increases the numbers of both nACh and NMDA receptors, but decreases serotonin and dopamine receptors in the brain tissue” .

This might be a bad, beginner question but I would really, more than anything appreciate a straight and detailed answer - 1) Is this decrease in receptors permanent or do these receptors again increase in number when one stops Phenypiracetam. 2) What does a decrease in receptors mean? Will it affect you negatively in a psychological way - like make you into a zombie (like the drugs for depression and ocd do, for example)? 3) I would think that a decrease in serotonin and dopamine (pleasure chemical) receptors would be a bad thing, isn't it - like make you more dull, make you experience less pleasure in life and more depressed (less serotonin from less serotonin receptors? Or have I got it wrong). If it decreases serotonin and dopamine receptors then how can this compound be released to the public and be prescribed by Russian doctors, even to Russian cosmonauts (for increased performance) - I mean am I missing something here?