• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo

Which one of these resveratrol supplements would you recommend?

resveratrol

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 JohnDoe999

• 128 posts

Posted 19 November 2014 - 02:05 PM

Hi

I have been using "normal" resveratrol for a couple of years, but I see that there are other variants. Out of normal resveratrol, and the two below mentioned combinations, which do you think would be the better to use?

• Resveratrol as MicroActive® Resveratrol-SRTM(sustained-release complex) - 150mg
    Polygonum cuspidatum extract (root)

or

Amount Per Serving % Daily Value Red Wine Extract (Vitis vinifera)(skin and pulp) (providing minimum 24% total polyphenols and minimum 100 ppm resveratrol) 100 mg * MegaNatural® Gold GrapeseedExtract (Vitis vinifera) (standardized to 90% polyphenols) 50 mg * Resveratrol(from 60 mg of a 50% standardized Polygonum cuspidatum root extract) 30 mg *

#2 maxwatt

• Guest, Moderator LeadNavigator
  • 4,949 posts

Posted 20 November 2014 - 03:04 PM

Neither of these is a good option, IMO, for resveratrol. 150 mg of resveratrol extract could be 50 percent resveratrol, or 98%. Sustained release sounds like a good idea if it works -it often is too poorly implemented to be true sustained release- moreover the dose at 150 mg would be the minimum to get significant blood levels, so spreading it out over time would mean low and ineffective levels.

The grape extract version contains little resveratrol, but cheap grape seed extract, a confounding substance that seems to be a stimulant according to many who have posted here. Most found the effect unpleasant, some liked it.

In short, neither is a good option if you are interested in resveratrol, though they might be found useful for some, for other purposes. The formulations seem like marketing gimmicks based on wishful thinking.

Edited by maxwatt, 20 November 2014 - 03:06 PM.

sponsored ad

• Advert