- - - - -

I'm afraid Adderall destroyed my brain

adderall

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Kewell357

• 40 posts

Posted 27 November 2014 - 07:51 PM

I have been on Adderall for almost 2 years now.

I find that on Adderall, I am very scatter brained, much more so than before I began taking it. I jump from one topic to another in conversations, and people have began to describe me as being very 'random'. I can't finish a sequence properly if I tried really hard at memorizing it over and over, and I was really good at things like this. My grades have also began to drop spectacularly. I have tried to go to a dose of 30mg/day but it's still the same.

Can anyone allay my fear by saying that it's probably just tolerance? and that this is not the neurotoxicity of the drug manifesting itself? I am in my final year in medical school and this is beginning to worry me alot.

Edited by Kewell357, 27 November 2014 - 08:14 PM.

#2 5IMON

• 49 posts

Posted 27 November 2014 - 08:46 PM

You've been taking it too long and as a result downregulated (desensitised) dopamine receptors.  Its a bit like when you have a drug addict who requires more to get the same desired effect.

I would recomend a 2 month ( at least 1 month) break , change to a methiphindate if you must or a complete elimination. You should return back to normal then reintroduce slowly.

Cerebrolysin should accelerate upregulation

READ MY ADHD THREAD FOR MORE INFO

I also believe the side effects  is due to neurotoxicity but is reversable

sponsored ad

• Advert
Click HERE to rent this advertising spot for BRAIN HEALTH to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 Kewell357

• Topic Starter
  • 40 posts

Posted 27 November 2014 - 09:58 PM

You've been taking it too long and as a result downregulated (desensitised) dopamine receptors.  Its a bit like when you have a drug addict who requires more to get the same desired effect.