• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo
- - - - -

New Member - Can someone help me simplify my stack?

supplements

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 CD23

• 7 posts
  • NO

Posted 09 March 2015 - 09:18 PM

Hello!

I am seeking some clarification on supplementation.  Here's a brief overview of my situation:

History: I am a 34 year old female, NKDA, with no major health history or mental health diagnoses.  I am unmarried and have 1 child, who is 4.5 years old.

About 18 months ago I began looking into supplements and nootropics to help me deal with my stress levels which were, at the time, spiraling out of control.  The environmental conditions I have been in for the past few years have been pretty challenging (I went through a divorce, I am a single mother, I am a nursing student, my own mother was diagnosed with an autoimmune condition and had to move in with me, etc.), so the source of my stress reactions is certainly understandable, to a certain degree.  Nevertheless, I was needing a way to manage it all before I completely lost control.  I also have a history of struggles with depression, anxiety, and binge eating disorder.  In all cases, however, my symptoms have been manageable enough that I have never sought out any more help than intermittent counseling.  This, along with making sure I get regular sleep and exercise and eat a healthy diet, has generally been sufficient to bring me back into a stable and happy mind set.  At baseline, I'm a pretty optimistic and joyful person.  Over the past five years, though, life events have been difficult enough to strain my mental health to a near breaking point.  That's when I began looking into supplements.  I was on the verge of seeking pharmaceutical relief (ie SSRI's, etc.), but I have always been hesitant to go that route if I can avoid it.

Symptoms/Changes I am seeking: