• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo
- - - - -

Where do I start to begin caring for my skin better and prevent aging?

acne scars 20s male skincare diet exercise anti-aging

• Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 shyherdier

• 20 posts
  • NO

Posted 30 May 2015 - 08:56 AM

I feel like a complete novice towards anti-aging compared to the other posters here. For example it seems like everyone here uses sunscreen daily like it's second nature - I only put on sunscreen once or twice a year! I'm looking for a general overview of different things I can start doing, both immediately and in the future. I'm almost 24 and my skin looks quite bad. I've had mild-moderate acne since I was 14 and also have some scarring on my face. Skin tone is very uneven. I can't imagine myself with clear skin. My only saving grace is that my skin is quite oily, which apparently is a natural anti-ager. At the moment, the only thing I'm doing for anti-aging is that I've quit coffee, milk and sugar, and started drinking lots of white tea.

I've made a list of bullet points below on my own ideas to get the ball rolling. If anyone could expand on them with details, or add their own ideas, I would be much obliged. Open minded to either natural or non-natural skincare products.

• get Retin-A/tretinoin (which % strength?)
  • overhaul my diet (currently eat lots of processed grains, little/no fruit or vegetables, and am addicted to curry chicken)
  • exercise (this is more for my mental health)
  • new cleanser (ideas?)
  • new toner/moisturiser (ideas?)
  • new body wash/moisturiser (ideas?)
  • get an eye cream (ideas0
  • use sunscreen daily
  • wear moisture socks/gloves overnight for feet/hand anti-aging
  • get better sleep (I constantly have dark undereyes/bags)
  • get microdermabrasion facials once a week

#2 Heyman

• 207 posts

Posted 30 May 2015 - 12:07 PM