• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo
- - - - -

Matcha + coffee = caffeine + l-theanine?

matcha coffee caffeine theanine

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 nooguyz

• 83 posts

Posted 08 October 2015 - 01:07 AM

I'm just getting into nootropics (just reading for now), and I've read that l-theanine (found in tea) and caffeine is a great combo for enhancing cognition. I drink a lot of coffee anyway, but I've read that tea doesn't contain much l-theanine, so I thought I could just buy it. But then I discovered something called "matcha", which supposedly contains "more" l-theanine.

So the question 1 is this: how much l-theanine does 1g of matcha contains? It's a very costly substance, so I wonder if I can actually afford it.

Question 2: can I drink coffee and matcha throughout the day, a cup of one, a cup of the other, etc. and get the same effect as if I was shooting a 100mg of caffeine + 200g of l-theanine (I think those are the doses) in the morning?

Bottom line: Whatever I do, I will be drinking coffee, cacao and cream throughout the day. From 4 cups to 10 cups a day of one or the other or a mix of both.

I haven't read enough about other nootropics yet, but I'm reading, and I will be posting a new thread about that soon. But if you have more advice, feel free to include it as well, it would be well appreciated.

#2 platypus

• 2,386 posts

Posted 08 October 2015 - 06:46 AM

You can drink a cup or two of matcha for health reason but otherwise it's easier to et your l-theanine from supplements.

sponsored ad

• Advert
Click HERE to rent this advertising spot for BRAIN HEALTH to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 nooguyz

• Topic Starter
  • 83 posts

Posted 08 October 2015 - 09:59 AM

You can drink a cup or two of matcha for health reason but otherwise it's easier to et your l-theanine from supplements.