i'm fast learner, but also fast forgetter

learning forgetting memory

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 jack black

• 1,294 posts
  • NO

Posted 03 October 2017 - 02:56 PM

as far as I remembered, so it's not aging.

i did very well in schools, but not so much in the real life. I mean, I'm a reasonably successful professional, but below my real potential.

i'm also attracted to novelty and bored by things easily. easy to start new projects and incredibly hard to complete them (I know, this part sounds like ADHD a lot).

Does it ring a bell to anyone? Anyone with a similar story? Especially the easy learning/easy forgetting part? The parts that are the hardest for me to remember are names and faces (really bad in my professional life and limits my social life too).

Thanks for reading!

#2 msbost

• 18 posts

Posted 04 October 2017 - 01:37 PM

Can you provide me with more information about your physical constitution. Are you thin? do you feel cold in your extremities? Is your skin dry? do you have a good steady stamina, or are you more of a "burst" kind of guy?

As for memory, I remember a part of an important neuroscience book where it was mentioned that memories are stored very well, but other neuronal activities may overlap and thus suppress your ability to recall.  In my limited view you can go with memories in two ways; either reinforce more connections so that the chance of recall is higher, or you suppress memories that deplete/disrupt your ability to recall. If I were you then I would stay away from memory enhancers unless you can create an environment that will allow you to focus on a particular subject alone. You are likely to be a creative person, so perhaps you can find a unique way that works for you.

PS: My above opinions include facts along with personal speculations.  

• like x 1

sponsored ad

• Advert
Click HERE to rent this advertising spot for BRAIN HEALTH to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).