• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo
- - - - -

Suicide: a growing concern among society(s);.

Posted by Darkly Origins , in My Poetry; 10 October 2014 · 1,982 views

suicide sociology social problems social issues philosophy naturalism darkly origins death longevity
Suicide: a growing concern among society(s);

Forwarded; suicide, it has always existed, and always will - it has always been sad, and tragically veiled, however, - as of recently it has been growing in intensity, accumulative in statistics, exponential in count - and I feel as though the concept is growing in boldness among young peoples. I graduated from High School in 2009, and from vivid recollection, I know 10/250 people have taken their own lives, 5/250 have committed irreversibly detrimental crimes, and have consequently condemned themselves to life imprisonment, and 12/350 have been the victims of murder, drug abuse, overdose, sexual trafficking, sexual assault, weapon proliferation, physical and psychological abuse, and at least 30/250 are severely depressed, poverty-struck, or neglected in dark disconsolation.

Forwarded;: as of late, within the last weekend - two young women, aged 27, and another 23, (my age) have taken their own lives, one with a firearm, and another with legalized narcotics; the latter, (23) year old girl was someone I knew well at one point - she and I shared our first kiss together, outside our middle-school one cold and dark evening, the other I knew only vaguely, as she was married to someone I'm relatively acquainted with, and the truth has not come out yet - as it's only hearsay, and gossip on my behalf to state I feel as though the (27) year old girl took her own life, in front of her three children and husband in their kitchen because she is/was a victim of physical and/or psychological abuse. She was a beautiful woman, and I'm sure, her personality befit her image well.