Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

Meditation the Nootropic

• Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

#31 Wobble

• 39 posts

Posted 25 August 2011 - 12:18 AM

I love meditation. I do a lot of breathing centric. heat meditation is also great, as a ski instructor I can vouche for the efficiency. Also motor centric meditation is fun, Just try to pay total attention to your body. I have persistent visual snow which is influenced by my hearing and it makes beautiful fractals and shapes when I meditate.

#32 Wobble

• 39 posts

Posted 25 August 2011 - 12:24 AM

Also, moving meditation like kata is very fun. My style of karate has an increadble circular kata which I will go down to my basement and practice if I cannot sleep.

sponsored ad

• Advert
Click HERE to rent this advertising spot for BRAIN HEALTH to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#33 Kemal

• 1 posts

Posted 23 December 2011 - 10:06 AM

Thanks for this thread. is there any substance that will allow better muscle relaxation during meditation that will not affecting cognition and focus? I have a hip injury and the common meditation position are very hard for me.

Kava (Piper methysticum) has been known to improve mental focus while having a relaxing effect on the muscles. In higher doses it can also provide a sense of euphoria. Also Indian Pipe (Monotropa uniflora) is said to be physically relaxing without altering focus or cognition.

#34 LeonardElijah

• 78 posts

Posted 16 January 2012 - 12:54 AM

I do prantic breathing for 3.5 minutes and focus on the alignment of my crown and intestinal chakras. I then adopt the inverse hippo position and project the Diva within to exude universal awareness.

Maybe not. I sit in stillness with a quiet mind, and if I lose the quiet present moment I focus on something external until I have the quietness again. Meditation needs to be taught in schools. Great thread.

#35 Erstwhile

• 36 posts

Posted 01 February 2012 - 07:21 AM