* * * * - 3 votes

Benzo withdrawal 14 months off, still suffering with cognitive impairment

benzodiazepine withdrawal cognitive impairment

• Please log in to reply
196 replies to this topic

#1 Kompota

• 81 posts

Posted 22 August 2012 - 11:40 AM

Hello to everybody. I am a newbie here looking for advice. I am glad to see here people with some scientific background, who are really methodical (as opposed to some arrogant neurologist: "ahh, you are anxious, take this klonopin and do not argue with me if you want to heal") and have been researching into the matter of neuroscience. I have read the posts of ScienceGuy and I am simply amazed at his background knowledge, so I was hoping for some help.

I was on benzodiazepines for a short term, nevertheless I got into this mess. And when you are into benzo withdrawal, it does not matter long term of short term. It is a very individual thing in the end. The whole thing was so unnecessary, but lack of knowledge about those evil drugs, my own stupidity, and doctor's greed have put me into this situation.

At present, 14+ months off xanax and clonazepam, I am struggling with cognitive issues mainly.

Short term memory is literally non-existent, I can not focus, suffer from lack of creativity, abstract thinking and problem-solving skills, I have no motivation, small tasks represent a huge challenge. Everything I listed here comes with a king of mental fatigue and tension, which is difficult to explain. It is like some kind of brain fog, I feel like a retard (and I am a computer programmer).

Physically I am doing ok overall, maybe at 99%. I get tired more easily, have some musle weakness especially in the early mornings (high cortisol maybe ?), and blurred vision. Those symptoms are not that much of a trouble really, being of low intensity. But they are a very typical sign that my nervous system is still out of whack.