Anxiety and panic, agoraphobia, possible MDMA damage, unable to take SSRIs

anxiety panic agoraphobia mdma ssris serotonin syndrome

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 wemakegreatpets

• 2 posts
  • NO

Posted 02 December 2019 - 01:38 AM

I’ve been researching causes and potential treatments for my issues for a few months now. Some days, like today, I’ll spend an entire day and still come up more confused than I was before I began. I was hoping someone could help.

I’m a 46-year-old female. I see a psychiatrist for agoraphobia and generalized anxiety disorder. He’s also diagnosed me with ptsd. I don’t disagree with his diagnosis at all.

Anxiety:

Consists of being easily startled, (it’s ridiculous—an email preview popped up in the corner of my screen the other day and I about jumped out my chair). There’s also sensitivity to noise, racing thoughts, and of course the other common symptoms with the panic attacks—feel like I’m going to faint, racing heart, can’t breathe. It just feels like I’m ALWAYS pulled tight like a guitar string that’s about to snap. There doesn’t really need to be a trigger, it’s just constant. The agoraphobia, well, I just consider that a side-effect of years of anxiety and panic.

He’s explained to me that the anxiety is basically brain waves that tend to follow the path of least resistance like electricity. “Things” in life have caused my brain to jump into fight or flight mode, and as time has went on that’s my default reaction to pretty much everything.

I don’t know if this makes sense to you but I understand it. I understand the need to “retrain my brain” through therapy, and I also understand the need for medication. The issue is the reactions that I have had to medications.

SSRI reaction: