* * * * * 1 votes

The Myth of Alzheimer's Disease

• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 gavrilov

• 341 posts

Posted 29 December 2007 - 03:46 AM

Greetings,

Amazingly, a new book is coming out next week, which says that the Alzheimer's Disease is just a myth:

The Myth of Alzheimer's: What You Aren't Being Told About Today's Most Dreaded Diagnosis
by Peter J. Whitehouse, Daniel George
http://tinyurl.com/3a6d5o

The authors claim that there is no a singular disease, but rather there are many very different kinds of brain failures with age, which are inappropriately named by one and the same term -- the Alzheimer's Disease.

Any experts here to comment?

Kind regards,

-- Leonid Gavrilov, Ph.D.
Blog: http://longevity-science.blogspot.com/
My books: http://longevity-sci....org/Books.html

#2 Mind

• Life Member, Director, Moderator, Treasurer
  • 18,997 posts

Posted 29 December 2007 - 01:18 PM

I am no expert, but from what I have read it seems as though Alzheimer's is just an amped-up fast-forward version of regular brain aging. What I have observed among the people I know (or have known) is similar to The Nuns of Mankato study. People who exercise their mind and body seem to stave off the affects of Alzheimer's and brain aging in general.
  • Disagree x 2

#3 Spiral Architect

• 79 posts

Posted 29 December 2007 - 02:10 PM

Well, not ALL age-related brain failures are called AD. It's true that there are many forms of AD and that they're all likely a cause of the brain aging - i.e. a few systems that can't keep up anymore and a loss of the balance that is required for maintaining proper neuronal communication (among other things).
The thing is, once one of these systems breaks down, many things that rely on it also get out of control and the way down is fast and tends to look similar and with similar results no matter how it began.

Edited by Kane, 29 December 2007 - 06:41 PM.

sponsored ad

• Advert

#4 missminni

• 1,857 posts