- - - - -

Ashtanga Yoga: Exercise and Meditation Combined

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 ocsrazor

• Guest OcsRazor
  • 461 posts

Posted 15 November 2004 - 09:53 PM

I have meaning to say something to this board for a while about Ashtanga Yoga as a very powerful tool for enhanced energy, focused concentration, and mental function. I have been experimenting on myself with a variety of different types of exercise for a while to see the effects on my general energy levels and mental function were. I have been a personal trainer, a martial arts instructor, and a serious amateur athlete in a number of sports and I have never found anything with as profound effect as this type of yoga practice on my mental abilities.

In short, this is a form of yoga which is a moving meditation. It consists of a series of progressively more difficult postures in which one maintains a deep, evenly paced breath throughout. It teaches you to remain absolutely calm in difficult situations. The other benefits of this type of practice are greatly enhanced oxygen uptake (which could be one of the reasons for enhanced cognition), a lean, toned body, and the obvious - greatly increased flexibility.

Just as a background on where I was starting from - I have never had any problem with shortage of intelligence, but I have had a lifelong problem with focus. I have noticed remarkable differences in my ability to concentrate as I have practiced Ashtanga regularly.

I also have noted a very strange but not unpleasant occasional time slowing effect, in which the world around me seems to move in slow motion. I'm curious if athletes or meditators have reported this effect previously. I'm familiar with 'the zone' effect that is common in athletes, but this seems to be something different.

Best,
Peter

• Lurker

Posted 16 November 2004 - 12:57 AM