Photo

Best Aging Explanation Yet

aging theory

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 eighthman

• 155 posts

Posted 30 December 2011 - 03:19 AM

The article is entitled "Mitochondrial DNA and Animal Longevity: Insights From Comparative Studies"

I realize this is my subjective judgement but I think this article is more clear, logical and discerning in its developed correlations than anything else I've read. It is consistent with studies done on ageless animals.

Simply put, it nails it down.....

Attached Files

• Attached File  Mdna.pdf   1.07MB   134 downloads

#2 johnross47

• 747 posts
  • Location:table 42 in the restaurant at the end of the universe

Posted 30 December 2011 - 07:30 PM

As a non scientist I was surprised at how readable this article is. If I've understood it, it seems to be strong support for CR and puts forward a plausible mechanism to explain the CR effect. Is that correct?

Click HERE to rent this BIOSCIENCE adspot to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 eighthman

• Topic Starter
  • 155 posts

Posted 31 December 2011 - 12:42 AM

I appreciate the fact that it explains various mysteries such as why antioxidants don't do much or why birds live longer than rodents despite a higher metabolism.

I think it makes much more sense to examine ageless animals to find out their secrets than looking at centenarian genes. Why hit a single when you might knock one out of the park?

sponsored ad

• Advert

#4 eighthman

• Topic Starter
  • 155 posts

Posted 31 December 2011 - 12:46 AM

Oops..... and yes, the final part defends caloric restriction in terms of avoiding mtDNA damage.

#5 johnross47

• 747 posts

Posted 25 March 2012 - 07:07 PM

wonder why this thread disappeared without trace

Edited by johnross47, 25 March 2012 - 07:07 PM.

#6 Mind

• Life Member, Director, Moderator, Treasurer
  • 18,997 posts

Posted 26 March 2012 - 12:57 PM