The Inflammatory Reflex - HDW's Learning Log

vagus cholinergic anti-inflammatory heart rate variability spleen smile

• Please log in to reply
226 replies to this topic

#1 HighDesertWizard

• 830 posts

Posted 24 May 2012 - 11:20 PM

Updated March 4th, 2019

In the fall of 2011, I accidentally discovered the science of The Inflammatory Reflex. I posted about how I came across it here at Longecity. I knew at the time that it was important, but I had no idea how important, both in my own life and, in the future, for most of humanity.

It took me several years to more fully understand what exactly it was and what it meant and the science underlying it continues to evolve. It took me even longer to wake up one day with the realization that I should be taking steps to trigger it in my own life. I've been doing that now for about 4 years. I had stumbled onto something like Mother's Nature's ultimate gift to us related to increasing survival probability and it only made sense to leverage that fact. I've described this gift like this.

22XUgNAh.png

Over time, I posted about The Inflammatory Reflex in 5 separate Longecity threads that constituted a Log of my Learning about it. Separating the content out seemed like a good at the time, even if it doesn't now. I remember being overwhelmed by the complexity of the science of TIR.

I recently asked Mind if it might be possible to integrate the posts of 4 of those Longecity threads into a single thread so the content path of the learning might be followed in time sequence order. I appreciate his help in establishing this new forum thread which is the integration of the posts of those 4 threads.

Thank you, Mind!

I've repurposed and renamed the 5th thread having to do with survival probability. It's now called Survival Probability Curves and their Purported Mechanisms of Action.