• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Piracetam cold turkey - problems eversince.

piracetam withdrawal myoclonus anxiety

• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 montana2012

• 75 posts

Posted 27 August 2013 - 06:48 PM

Hello there,
I feel bad that my first post in the community should be about a terrible problem that plagues me.
In a nutshell - took piracetam for 90 days without choline, doses reaching 6g/day. But caught cold and stopped cold turkey. That lead to massive anxiety and depression problems. I did continue to take it for a while afterwards, didn't do much good though. It gave me cortical myoclonus, which is uncontrollable muscle twitching to this day. It'll probably be with me for the rest of my life.

5 MONTHS LATER STILL:

Here comes the worst part and I'm pretty confident piracetam caused it:

I've been questioning my every thought and action eversince, for 5 months now. I doubt things I know, which I never did in the past. I'm not sure/confident in anything. Is this an anxiety symptom?
Does this state of mind have a name in the literature?
Is NMDA, ACh receptor damage responsible?
Which chemical makes us "sure of things" in the brain? Norepinephrine, dope?
Hypoxia from the sudden stop?
I know I should consult a neurologist. No need to remind me.

P.S. I did try to continue taking it to relieve the symptoms, but it doesn't help with the above and it causes more anxiety, that lasts for WEEKS.

Should I try 'nother racetam?

I've been in a pretty dark place for a while and looking forward for a solution from the community!

Best regards, Steve

Read more: http://www.drugs-for...2#ixzz2dCEHOMfG

#2 deh707

• 126 posts

Posted 27 August 2013 - 08:48 PM

Very strange. Maybe it's possible that you've depleted your choline stores excessively without headache symptoms?