What do you take and Where do you buy ?

suplements retail

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 RemiDav

• 7 posts

Posted 06 November 2017 - 01:13 AM

Hi all,

I am a bit new to this but feel we can greatly learn from each others.
I noticed it is a bit hard to find some products in Canada compared to the US.
It would be great if everyone shared what products they took and where they got them (Canada / US Import).

--------------------------

I will start with myself. Having been on a Keto diet for a while, these are the only things I take so far:

-Green Tea Extract (with ECGC) to lower fat absorption.

After having looked at several brands, I ended up settling with "Botanica Green Tea Extract" on Amazon Canada since it has 500mg of extract per capsule, with at least 45% ECGC (=225mg).
Being sold currently at $28 for 120 capsules ($0.23 / 500mg capsule), it felt like a good deal compared to other brands.

-Caffeine pills (100mg):
I either buy the Wake Up brand or the Life equivalent from Shoppers. I find that the Life brand version dissolves faster (if you want to mix it).

• Informative x 1

#2 RemiDav

• Topic Starter
  • 7 posts

Posted 06 November 2017 - 07:11 PM

After doing some research, I found out that the brand I purchased (Botanica) was actually one of the less valuable ones because the lab measured content of EGCg is only around 170mg.

Using Labdoor and ConsumerLab reports on the real contents of EGCg supplements, and getting prices from amazon, I found out that there are other more valuable brands.
I made a google spreadsheet but I cannot post links yet (I'm too new). Here are parts of the results:

Brand : EGCg (mg) / Num capsules / Price / Cost per 100mg EGCg
  • Buddha's Herbs Decaffeinated Green Tea Extract: 
    204.21 / 200 / $19.00 / $0.047
  • NOW Foods EGCG Green Tea Extract (x4):
    200 / 720 / $78.00 / $0.054
  • Best Naturals Green Tea Extract:
    201.95 / 240 / $28.20 / $0.058