Resveratrol brand and formulation differences

resveratrol blood sugar piperine

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 AceNZ

• 225 posts
  • NO

Posted 20 January 2019 - 10:24 PM

Although the probable anti-aging aspects of Resveratrol are great, my main motivation for taking it is actually for blood sugar (BG) management (I'm pre-diabetic / Syndrome X). I've been using it for about 10 years now.

I take 500 mg Biotivia Transmax, Trans-Resveratrol, once/day with food. This formulation also includes Polydatin extract (5 mg) (a Resveratrol precursor) and Piperine (5 mg).

Over the years, I've tried a few different brands, and have also taken periodic breaks.

One aspect of using it for BG management is that effectiveness is easy to measure with a blood glucose meter. 

There can be a significant difference from one brand to another. For example, I've tried Bluebonnet and a Now Foods mix with Pterostilbene for a few months each, and both had almost no effect on my BG. Returning to Biotivia immediately re-established lower and more stable BG measurements.

If effectiveness varies on the BG side, it will certainly vary for anti-aging effects, as well.

I'm not sure if the differences are due to the purity of the trans-Resveratrol itself, or if it's related to the additives. Piperine, in particular, has been reported to significantly aid absorption.

I would be interested in hearing from others who may have tracked their Resveratrol supplementation in similar ways, and whether there are other brands / formulations / suppliers I should consider. Biotivia has been great for me, but it's also expensive.