• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo

Hello PLEASE HELP! - Stem Cell Questions?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Jessy_Hoo

• Guest, F@H
  • 16 posts

Posted 06 November 2008 - 02:32 AM

My name is Jessy; I'm 25 years old, married with one CRAZY AWESOME 3 year old. I'm a first year college student in VA – I know, I know 25 and JUST NOW going to college; Hey I say better late than never right!

So, here is my issue….

I'm currently working on a Biology project about Stem Cells, and I want to make sure I'm getting this right.

:) This is what I'm getting PLEASE let me know if I'm going in the right/wrong direction?

What is a Stem Cell and What do they do?
Stem cells have the ability to copy themselves through mitosis, as well as the ability to transform into specialized cells. These specialized cells include bone, cartilage, muscle, gut, and nerves

So, cell life begins with the fertilization of an egg by sperm. This fertilized egg is now termed as an embryo…..

Here are my questions:

1. Is an embryo basically a stem cell? If no, then where is the stem cell produced?

2. What makes the stem cell transform into the specialized cells?

3. Can Stem cells reach Hayflick limit?

#2 lunarsolarpower

• 1,323 posts

Posted 06 November 2008 - 04:45 AM

1. Is an embryo basically a stem cell? If no, then where is the stem cell produced?

2. What makes the stem cell transform into the specialized cells?

3. Can Stem cells reach Hayflick limit?

Welcome to Imminst Jessy. I hope you'll find lots of interesting things here.

Sometimes finding an answer is a matter of knowing the right word to search for. From Wikipedia:

The blastocyst consists of two primary cell lines:

• the inner cell mass, also known as the "embryoblast"
  • the trophoblast