Photo
- - - - -

Strategies for Reducing Alcohol Toxicity

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 threshold

• 11 posts

Posted 06 January 2011 - 10:20 PM

I'm an undergraduate and do my fair share of partying. I was hoping to tap into the collective wisdom here and was wondering if there are any effective ways to mitigate the long term effects of alcohol on the body, and in particular its effects on the brain and nervous system.

What I've done so far is to limit my drinking, and to make sure to get plenty of water and water soluble vitamins before and after drinking. I'd also wager that some of the antioxidants such as curcumin and green tea extract that I take daily help to counteract alcohol's pro-oxidant effects.

I also found these experiments on pubmed, the results of which I find pretty compelling:

http://www.ncbi.nlm....pt=AbstractPlus

They appear to show that high saturated fat intake and low vegetable oil intake completely prevent liver damage from alcohol. Chalk up another point to paleo diets!

Any comments/ideas?

#2 shp5

• 219 posts

Posted 06 January 2011 - 11:16 PM

Interesting topic. I'm not fearing for my liver though, when you stay reasonable. Moderate doses of alcohol seem to be life extending, but I guess they do have a negative neurological effect? Same goes for testosterone?

Are there any methods to counteract these?

sponsored ad

• Advert
Click HERE to rent this advertising spot for BRAIN HEALTH to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 threshold

• Topic Starter
  • 11 posts

Posted 06 January 2011 - 11:22 PM

It does seem that many studies are showing that moderate levels of drinking are life extending.

One prospective cohort study: