Could Arginine Lead to Lupus

autoimmune disease

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Sillewater

• 1,076 posts
  • NO

Posted 28 October 2011 - 12:49 AM

Currently in school I am studying the topic of Inflammatory Arthritis with a focus on Rheumatoid Arthritis and Lupus which are autoimmune diseases. When I was researching the paleo diet long ago, lectins particularly scared me. Loren Cordain wrote many papers on the danger of lectin (1,2) especially its possible involvement in autoimmune diseases. Thus I have since relied on cooking any form of legume very very thoroughly at low temperatures (since time kinetic is usually linear and temperature is squared, at a lower temperature you have to cook much much longer then at a higher temperature) (3). I have thought about just relying on meat, the amino acid composition of animal products do not appeal to me.

Anyway, in my search I found (4) which was quite an interesting read (it compares food-allergies to self-allergies), it specifically focused on peanuts. I decided to look at the nutritional composition of peanuts and found that not only was it high in lectin, it was also high in arginine (like many other seed products (5)). L-arginine is an amino acid that is involved in many processes, but the one I am interested in is the NO-pathway, especially its relationship to autoimmune diseases (6), and indeed there may be a relationship (7). This could be either due to nitrosamine formation or by the pathway itself inside Tcells (8).