• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Carbs (aka glucose) impairs arterial and brain function -- enjoy your Turkey Day carb feast!

carbs glucose heart brain

• Please log in to reply
98 replies to this topic

#1 DukeNukem

• 2,008 posts

Posted 23 November 2011 - 10:43 PM

As I've been saying for a few years, carb-loading and carbs in general are NOT the preferred fuel for our body. The heart, especially, runs of fatty acids as the preferred fuel. The brain is the only organ that requires glucose, and it performs optimally on a mix of fatty acids (ketones) and glucose, around a 50/50 mixture, which requires NO dietary carb consumption at all to maintain.

Carbohydrate-enriched diet impairs cardiac performance by decreasing the utilization of fatty acid and glucose. Conclusion: Our data suggest that a high-carbohydrate diet can damage myocardial contractile function by decreasing the cardiac utilization of glucose and fatty acids and, consequently, the ATP pool.
http://tak.sagepub.c...5/1/11.abstract

Also...

Damaged Hearts Pump Better When Fueled With Fats, Study Suggests
http://www.scienceda...10504140919.htm

News Flash: A non-damaged heart also pumps better when fueled by fats.

BTW, all of our organs run better (and cleaner -- with less metabolic damage) on fat. Again, the one exception is our brain, which runs best on a 50/50 mix of fat and glucose. But, this is NOT a reason to eat carbs, because our body can make all the glucose the brain needs from the protein we ingest. We can live our entire lifetime without consume a gram of carbs. Yet we will quickly die if we do not consume fat and/or proteins.

Most modern brain dysfunctions, like Alzheimer's, are the result of long-term carb overdose, overwhelming the brain with metabolic waste. Burning fat does not create most of this waste by-product, and leaves the brain free of intercellular gunk.
  • like x 4
  • dislike x 2