high glucose accelerates aging?

glucose

• Please log in to reply
89 replies to this topic

#1 eon

• 1,369 posts
  • NO

Posted 09 January 2014 - 05:12 AM

How so? Curious if this has something to do with the sweetener "glucose" (aka dextrose)? I've been using glucose as my sweetener instead of table sugar. So taking lots of this leads to accelerated aging or are they implying glucose in the blood or body (and how does it become "bad")? This glucose sweetener is easily utilize by the body, not as sweet, and natural. So it is no worse than table sugar or high fructose corn syrup. Did I misinterpret the article I read? How does glucose become bad when it is also used by the body as energy? I'm not a scientist but glucose is water soluble so if taking it with fats, does it get stored in the liver and body like fat soluble vitamins does? So using glucose for teas is ok since it's water based but using it with tea while eating steak makes glucose bad?

#2 Mind

• Life Member, Director, Moderator, Treasurer
  • 18,997 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 06:34 PM

Excess glucose calories are detrimental to long term health. If you are only consuming the amount that your body uses for immediate or daily energy needs, then you are probably ok. Your body takes excess glucose calories and turns them into fat. Your body LOVES to store fat with those excess calories. Carrying around extra weight (especially white adipose tissue) is strongly correlated with worse health.

Click HERE to rent this BIOSCIENCE adspot to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 eon

• Topic Starter
  • 1,369 posts
  • NO

Posted 10 January 2014 - 09:22 AM