creatine as nootropic?

creatine

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 eon

• 1,369 posts
  • NO

Posted 03 March 2014 - 08:02 AM

I've taken creatine usually as a workout supplement. I'm currently using creatine monohydrate. The instructions is to take 20 grams per day for 5 to 7 days to saturate the body then drop to 5 grams daily. Why is this a nootropic and why the loading phase? I've never done the loading before when I took another form of creatine that required no loading phase. I split 20 grams 4 times daily. I've heard of people loading this for 2 days. Why did the instruction say 5 to 7 days?

#2 Jeoshua

• 662 posts

Posted 03 March 2014 - 02:25 PM

Creatine has other effects than on muscles. One of it's functions is to protect ATP in intercellular transits. And it is useful as a nootropic because most of the ATP in the body is used by the brain. Add on to that that most nootropic explorers are also health conscious, and have a likelyhood that they are not eating as much meat as the average person, and you have a situation where supplementation of both B12 and Creatine is recommended.

Ultimately the reputation comes from a study done on vegitarians that showed improved testing scores after taking Creatine. If you eat enough meat, this effect does not occur. If you don't eat meat, taking 5 grams of Creatine a day could make you smarter. Otherwise it's not going to be effective.

The loading instructions you see can safely be ignored. There are some people who say that, for working out, the loading phase is crucial, and others who say that a low level of Creatine just works. Whether or not it's necessary for working out, for nootropic purposes, it can be ignored, and 1-5 grams a day supplemented directly.

sponsored ad

• Advert
Rent this spot in Nootropics Topics to support Longecity (this will replace the google ad).

#3 eon

• Topic Starter
  • 1,369 posts
  • NO

Posted 25 March 2014 - 12:08 AM