Alcohol - my new effective treatment for schizophrenia and depression

schizophrenia alcohol

• Please log in to reply
142 replies to this topic

#1 YoungSchizo

• 855 posts

Posted 17 May 2017 - 04:32 PM

Sup guys,

I'm on Latuda 111mg, Zyprexa 2.5mg and Clonazepam 0.5 to 1.5mg. I've been drinking 6-8 beers a day (almost each day for 1,5 months now), than have a nap, after that, I drink either 4 more beers or don't depending on how I feel. I've been warned and I know from myself it's dangerous but so far the sign and symptoms show the opposite. When I drink my "positive" (I don't have positive symptoms but I mean more in general, feeling psychotic), my negative, depression and social symptoms have been replenished while I'm living this lifestyle. On days I don't drink at all those symptoms intervene with functioning like a healthy person and all I can do on those days is being depressed, impossible to enjoy anything and wanting/thinking about sleep (this was also the case before I started to drink). I was wondering how I react so positive to alcohol? I know the effects of alcohol on gaba-a and dopamine receptors but I'm not sure about what alcohol does to the glutamate system? I myself am kinda confused that alcohol can have such a positive impact on me and my symptoms and that I kinda found out I'm lost without it. And btw I'm not an addict or suffer from alcoholism I just want to know how alcohol affects the brainsystems and receptors to sort out why my brain reacts to it in this way.
  • Dangerous, Irresponsible x 5
  • Needs references x 2
  • Cheerful x 1
  • Agree x 1

#2 YoungSchizo

• Topic Starter
  • 855 posts

Posted 17 May 2017 - 05:45 PM

I rather have the person that flagged this thread as "dangerous, Irresponsible" speak up instead of marking it this way. Although there is a stigma on using alcohol when you have a mental illness, I rather want you to speak, stand up, instead of just flagging.

Edited by YoungSchizo, 17 May 2017 - 05:53 PM.