- - - - -

Resveratrol safety

• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 nfkb

• 10 posts

Posted 08 May 2009 - 03:29 PM

Hello !

i'm a young french doctor with special interest in nutrition in acute disease (intensive care)

With readings on antioxydants for my inpatients i began to gain interest in supplements for my myself, especially because i'm a poor fruit & vege eater, even if i'm french :)

I've discovered RSV, and i'm a bit disappointed. In the medical litterature, the french paradox is attributed tu a moderate consumption of red wine (even if BP grows a few points up cf Am J Clin Nutr 2004;80:621–5.) So a low intake of rsv is good for health. What about a massive intake ?

And because we know that the gut absorption is low, most manufacturers sells mega dose even in liposomal solution to boost the absorption. Waht about harmful effects of those mega dose ? From centuries and Paracelse we know that everything is a matter of dosage... A good drug can become a bad drug... some antioxydant can for example interfere with lymphocyte natural killer doing their job killing proliferating bad cells

I think rsv can be super useful but what about the dosage ? Maybe the wiseness of just eating fruit & vege in "natural" quantities" is a good solution ?

about safety of polyphenols :
Am J Clin Nutr 2005;81(suppl):326S–9S.

Thanks a lot in advance for your answers

Ps Yucca06 si tu me lis, jeserais heureux de causer de certaiens choses en MP

#2 Anthony_Loera

• Life Member
  • 3,168 posts

Posted 08 May 2009 - 03:50 PM

Hi,

Just to understand your argument a bit better, I must ask you the following question:

What do you consider a Mega dose?
Is it 100mg, 250mg, 500mg, 1000mg, 2000mg, 5000mg, 7000mg, or 12000mg (maybe more)?

Without nailing this piece of your post down, I am not sure anyone would be able to respond thoughtfully.

As for the following comment you made: