Photo
- - - - -

AGE's and whey protein

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Karomesis

• 1,010 posts

Posted 21 June 2007 - 05:15 PM

I searched and searched, but could find nothing on whey protein and AGE's.

I am not an expert in protein metabolism or glycation, I know a few basic things concerning the research into AGE/ALE inhibitors and early/late phase reactions, but that's it.

My question is: does the nature of the protein consumed have a direct correlation to the amount of AGE's produced? or is it largely irrelevant?

my guess is that it does matter, but only to a degree. [glasses] since there are some "experts" here (Zoo) :) on whey I figured we could get somewhere with this.

#2 health_nutty

• 2,410 posts

Posted 21 June 2007 - 06:30 PM

Interesting question. I'm certainly no expert, but AGE's are typically related to how high a temperature it is processed. Undenatured whey is heated at a low temp, so it would make sense that it is low AGE as well.

sponsored ad

• Advert
Click HERE to rent this advertising spot for SUPPLEMENTS (in thread) to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 Karomesis

• Topic Starter
  • 1,010 posts

Posted 22 June 2007 - 04:48 PM

Undenatured whey is heated at a low temp, so it would make sense that it is low AGE as well.

I forgot all about that. what brand do you use Health_nutty?
I usually go with gold standard cause it's the most convenient. But I've considered switching to AOR or Jarrow.

#4 ajnast4r

• Guest, F@H
  • 3,925 posts
  • NO

Posted 22 June 2007 - 04:52 PM

I usually go with gold standard cause it's the most convenient. But I've considered switching to AOR or Jarrow.

go w/ jarrow imo. solid brand, solid product.

ON is lower quality, and AOR is too expensive

#5 health_nutty

• 2,410 posts

Posted 22 June 2007 - 06:05 PM

I actually don't use whey protein.

#6 scuzzy1

• 4 posts

Posted 21 July 2007 - 02:05 AM