Photo
- - - - -

Piracetam, redux

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 caruga

• 514 posts

Posted 03 April 2011 - 10:23 PM

Some of my latest observations drawn from personal experimentation, and a thesis for loading phase. If this doesn't warrant its own thread feel free to merge it. I'm not an expert, and I can only guarrantee that everything I say here is applicable to me.

1. Piracetam needs fuel. I use the word 'fuel' loosely, based on my subjective experience of how it seems to create certain undesirable effects and then when I take another substance it eliminates those effects, suggesting that it deplored stores of that chemical. The form the fuel takes may vary from person to person due to undetermined factors, most likely genetics or what they're taking with it (I think whether you're a caffeine consumer could be a big influence, being a potent cholinergic even though seldom recognised as one). The most popular fuel is acetylcholine, but there may be other candidates. I wonder (as a total speculation) if even it can potentially, with prolonged immoderate doses, drain all neurotransmitters, and it's the fact that ACh has a much smaller gross amount present in the brain that causes it to be depleted first.

The usual symptom of (alleged) deplored ACh brought on by piracetam is brain fog. I live with brain fog myself 24/7 due to chronic fatigue, and the kind of brain fog piracetam generates is very different. Because of this I didn't even realise that it was brain fog, and referred to it in a totally different way, as a kind of weird sleepiness, difficulty to rise from bed, lack of motivation and an uncharacteristic indifference to my lack of motivation, and perceiving light to be darker than usual. But later, I realised we're probably talking about the same thing.

2. Piracetams main identified actions are increasing cell permeability, improving mitochondrial activity and cell metabolism.