• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Adverts help to support the work of this non-profit organisation. To go ad-free join as a Member.

Photo
- - - - -

The continuïty of consciousness

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 MentalParadox

• 45 posts
  • NO

Posted 24 July 2011 - 04:57 PM

I had a epiphany today, and wrote a paper about it. Unfortunately, it was in Dutch; so I will have to attempt to roughly describe what it was all about.
It's about "consciousness". My thoughts are rather chaotic (most complex epiphanies are), I'm sorry for that.

As a biological entity, we are constantly changing. Cells die, and are replaced. In ten years, much of what I am now will be gone, replaced by new cells.
I state that consciousness is an illusion that is generated by the brain. I am not a scientist and couldn't tell you how, but that's not relevant to the
issue anyway. Why an illusion? Well, a specific collection of cells in my brain are responsible for my consciousness at THIS specific point in time.
That's why I believe consciouness has no real continuïty, it only APPEARS to be that was because cells die and are replaced very slowly. Did you notice
that you are no longer the person you were ten years ago? Of course not. You didn't lose consciousness, it appeared to be constant and unchanging.

So our consciousness only appears to be "the same" and constant if the cells responsible for consciousness are replaced slowly. When you clone a person
(or just a person's brain), you create an identical brain consctructed according to the same blueprint as the original, right? Wrong. The blue print is
the same, but the bricks used are not. And that IS significant. It's like replacing all cells in one go instead of one by one. Which is what happens when
you die and your brain is cloned. This new consciousness you created will act the same, claim to be the same and will for all intents and purposes BE