• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo
- - - - -

Do any doctors / professionals use nootropic?

nootropic

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 wendychan

• 4 posts

Posted 04 April 2012 - 05:12 PM

I am new to nootropic and this forum.
I read many articles here and found that many of you consume lots of nootropic everyday (some are even over 10 drugs/day). I really wonder such large amount of consumption is bad to health. One obvious issue is the workload of kidney.

Another question: if nootropic is so promising, many doctors should know about it and they should take it. Is it a truth?

#2 gamesguru

• 3,467 posts

Posted 04 April 2012 - 06:46 PM

Please search around before posting. Most doctors are minimalists with regard to supplements, and most will only take 1-4 pharmaceuticals as they age. It's not common to see doctors using garlic/goldenseal to fight bacterial infections, and it's not common to see them use glucosamine/boswellic acid for arthritis, just like it's not common to see them using nootropics to treat cognitive dysfunction. Some doctors even say vitamins are useless, and stress the importance of exercise, diet, and "medicine". Most doctors also never think of using medicine for enhancement, since they've been indoctrinated to think medicine is only meant to return unhealthy people to baseline, and not to make "superhumans" out of healthy people.

Doctors generally ignore everything that's not a prescription because they only generally get paid by patients who are seeking prescriptions. Their opinions mean almost nothing about the effectiveness of non-pharmaceutical supplements. It's true that approved pharmaceuticals often have far more research behind them, so perhaps it's fair for doctors to believe in them, but I bet certain natural supplements are just as effective, if not more, but just haven't been explored yet by researchers (due largely to scarcity).