• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo
- - - - -

Is it safe to drink olive oil to gain weight?

• Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1 guyledouche

• 130 posts

Posted 11 April 2006 - 02:48 AM

Im tall and skinny and I wanna put on some healthy weight. I have a small appetite and usually eat 2-3 times a day. I have just started drinking about 3-4 Tbs of olive oil a day to get some extra calories in my diet. What is the most olive or safflower oil that I should drink in a day?

#2 the_eternal

• 66 posts

Posted 11 April 2006 - 06:36 AM

Eat 5-6 small meals through the day (force yourself if you have to), and don't be afraid to snack if you wanna put on weight, if you're really up for it go to your local suppliments store and get some of the weight gaining products, hit those up 3 times a day with 1/2L of milk should get some size on ya. I hope you're going to the gym as well... for the other meals (I'm no expert and I don't know if the others will agree with me) but go for lots of protein and carbs, fat isn't a good or healthy way to put on size.
  • dislike x 1

#3 DukeNukem

• 2,008 posts

Posted 11 April 2006 - 02:18 PM

Im tall and skinny and I wanna put on some healthy weight.

By "healthy weight," I assume you mean non-fat weight. And that really means you want to add muscle. Am I right?

If so, then you're not gonna get there by consuming olive oil. Some olive oil is good for you, but too much and you're going to intake more calories than you burn each day, and that leads to unhealthy weight got (a.k.a. fat).

Your best bet is resistant-style exercises. This will build muscle (healthy weight gain), which in turn help burn bodyfat.