Photo
- - - - -

A good supplement to step up metabolism

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 magrus

• 44 posts

Posted 26 May 2006 - 05:32 PM

Can anyone recommend a nootropic ( supplement) to boost metabolism to counteract weight gain after quitting smoking? I quit 2 months ago and so far so good. Yet knowing people who managed to gain close to 25 pounds I'm still apprehensive. I do take Piracetam, R-ala, cycle Picamilone amd work out few 5 times a week. Also my motivation and desire to work (I am a painter) has been rather lackadaisical of late, sort of low on enthusiasm & idea.
Have any one dealt with similar issues? Please advise.

#2 FunkOdyssey

• 3,443 posts

Posted 26 May 2006 - 06:01 PM

If you're interested in life extension and good health, the list of supplements you can use to boost metabolism is a short one. Green tea extract is a good bet... possibly forskolin as well.

sponsored ad

• Advert
Click HERE to rent this advertising spot for BRAIN HEALTH to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 nihilist

• 113 posts

Posted 26 May 2006 - 07:05 PM

id stay away from GT extract and just start drinking it.

the big thing with a weight gain from stopping smoking isnt a metabolic downing issue. its more than likely a hand to mouth side effect.

start chewing gum, and get something you can keep yours hands busy with. eventually, you can ween yourself off the hand toy once the cravings subside.

#4 Shepard

• Member, Director, Moderator
  • 6,360 posts

Posted 26 May 2006 - 08:15 PM

As long as you keep your appetite under control, don't worry about it. Eat more fiber, or just monitor your intake. Metabolism isn't really an issue at maintenance Calories.

#5 magrus

• Topic Starter
  • 44 posts

Posted 26 May 2006 - 11:21 PM

the big thing with a weight gain from stopping smoking isnt a metabolic downing issue. its more than  likely a hand to mouth side effect.