• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Adverts help to support the work of this non-profit organisation. To go ad-free join as a Member.

Photo
- - - - -

Why is Light the Fastest?

• Please log in to reply
163 replies to this topic

#1 Infernity

• 3,322 posts
  • 11 â‚®

Posted 10 July 2006 - 04:18 PM

Alright, isn't it obvious that if black holes swallow light, something must be faster than light? [huh]

I speak as a non-scientist, so I don't know what is the faster thing, why or how, these are merely thoughts.

-Infernity

#2 Brainbox

• 2,860 posts
  • 743 â‚®
  • NO

Posted 10 July 2006 - 05:48 PM

Hèhè, clever. I didn't come up with that one in my lifetime :)

I'm not a scientist either, but I asume that no light seems to escape black holes has something to do with bending of waves that causes light and electro-machnetic emisions in general not to travel in straight lines, due to high gravity fields?
Edit: I mean, gravity fields with high differentials or gradients wrt. location... (don't know the exact English term and no time to look it up either)

Edited by brainbox, 10 July 2006 - 06:24 PM.

#3 Live Forever

• Guest Recorder
  • 7,475 posts
  • 9 â‚®

Posted 10 July 2006 - 06:34 PM

There are theoretical objects called tachyons that move faster than light. There are some other things (like quantum entanglement) that appear to transmit information faster than light.

sponsored ad

• Advert

#4 Trias

• 270 posts
  • 0 â‚®

Posted 10 July 2006 - 07:32 PM

Alright]

I speak as a non-scientist, so I don't know what is the faster thing, why or how, these are merely thoughts.

-Infernity