• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo
- - - - -

Anything worth taking short term to increase GABA?

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 jay_uk

• 5 posts

Posted 14 February 2007 - 06:28 PM

Hi guys.

I'm a newbie, I've read 'the edge effect' and the questionnaire suggested I have a big GABA deficiency. I gather from another thread that this is quite common.

I'm going to do all the dietary stuff, but are there any good substances to take in the short term? Braverman mentions stuff like lorazepam, alprazolam which I'd probably steer clear of even if I could buy it.

Phenibut?

Cheers, Jay

Edited by jay_uk, 14 February 2007 - 06:45 PM.

#2 boilerroom

• 88 posts

Posted 14 February 2007 - 07:12 PM

I'd try theanine first; 100-200 mg take three times a day. Look for theanine produced by Suntheanine or regular theanine produced by a reputable company such as Jarrow. The effects are subtle but noticeable.

You could also try Ashwagandha. Look for the Senoril kind.

I would be careful self-diagnosing from these type of tests. What kind of problems do you have that would justify a GABA problem?? Anxiety? Social Phobia??
  • dislike x 1
  • like x 1
  • Informative x 1

sponsored ad

• Advert
Click HERE to rent this advertising spot for BRAIN HEALTH to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 superpooper

• 190 posts

Posted 15 February 2007 - 02:16 AM

Inositol and Theanine are the 2 best GABA supplements but you should really base your decision on how you want serotonin to be effected.

Inositol is supposed to have an SSRI LIKE effect. So it's going to be pro-serotonin.

Theanine reduces serotonin to some extent. So if you have problems with too much serotonin go with theanine.

#4 jay_uk

• Topic Starter
  • 5 posts

Posted 15 February 2007 - 09:33 AM

Thanks for that. I scored low on seratonin as well, so will give the inositol a go.