- - - - -

Becoming more articulate.

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 tarbtl

• 96 posts

Posted 05 September 2007 - 02:06 AM

Hey guys,

This post is going to be a bit all over the place but I hope some people can get something out of it and maybe help me out as well. Share experiences and such.

OK. At the beginning of 2007 I discovered a guy named Henry Rollins. He used to be a musician but now does "Spoken Word" tours. The way he speaks is absolutely incredible. He is the most articulate guy I've ever heard.

Ever since then I've collected all his spoken word CDs and listened to them all countless times.

This, to me, was so inspiring that it broke me out of a deep depression I was spiraling into. At that point I realized I had a life goal. I wanted to become as articulate as this guy.

Now, keep in mind, English isn't exactly my first language. Although I sound just like any other American, I only started learning English at the age of about 7, so I think that put me at a bit of a disadvantage as far as brain development goes. Research clearly shows that the critical years for learning and assimilating a language is ages 1-8.

OK. No matter. I plow through. On I go. So what I've been doing daily for the past 7 months (2-3 hours a day) is listening to Henry's spoken word tapes and repeating EXACTLY what he says. I'm not doing to rip his stories or material or anything like that. My goal is purely technical, to broaden my vocabulary, wit, speed and articulation.

The way my mind operates is kind of weird. Like what I'm typing now is kind of free-flowing from my thoughts. I haven't thought twice about anything I've written so far and I guess it makes some sense. But when I talk... it's much more complicated. Words don't come as fast and oftentimes, unless I speak slowly, people have a hard time understanding me. I have a hard time getting my point across.