Photo

Caffeine poisioning

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 VictorBjoerk

• Member, Life Member
  • 1,763 posts

Posted 14 June 2008 - 06:21 PM

I've discussed this with people and I can't find any good source on the net,but could drinking 2 liters of cocacola in a period of about 10 minutes lead to symptoms of caffeine poisoning for a human of average size?

(no I'm not going to try it) ;)

Edited by Shonghow, 14 June 2008 - 06:22 PM.

#2 forever freedom

• 2,362 posts

Posted 14 June 2008 - 09:19 PM

I'm no expert in it but i hardly think so. Coke doesn't have so much caffeine in 2 liters...

#3 eternaltraveler

• Guest, Guardian
  • 6,471 posts

Posted 14 June 2008 - 09:46 PM

2 liters of coke would have on the order of 200 mg of caffeine, about the same as one small starbucks coffee.

sponsored ad

• Advert

#4 eternaltraveler

• Guest, Guardian
  • 6,471 posts

Posted 14 June 2008 - 09:52 PM

I'm no expert in it but i hardly think so. Coke doesn't have so much caffeine in 2 liters...

it's probably best to hold back what you think if you don't have data

#5 Mind

• Life Member, Director, Moderator, Treasurer
  • 19,130 posts

Posted 14 June 2008 - 09:59 PM

Are you sure it is only 200 mg in a big 2 liter bottle? A twelve ounce can has 34 mg of Caffeine.

Hmmm, now I have to think about that darn metric to English units....I guess it would be around 200mg. Not that much.

#6 cyborgdreamer

• 735 posts

Posted 14 June 2008 - 10:04 PM

I don't know about the caffine, but pumping that much sugar into your blood stream can't be healthy.

#7 eternaltraveler

• Guest, Guardian
  • 6,471 posts

Posted 14 June 2008 - 10:20 PM

Are you sure it is only 200 mg in a big 2 liter bottle? A twelve ounce can has 34 mg of Caffeine.

Hmmm, now I have to think about that darn metric to English units....I guess it would be around 200mg. Not that much.

diet coke has about a 3rd more.

12 oz is about .35 of a liter.

#8 VictorBjoerk

• Topic Starter