Photo
- - - - -

Low Carb foods on the market

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 TheFountain

• 5,362 posts

Posted 23 January 2009 - 11:59 AM

Although I am not a proponent of the low carb diet, as I believe there is a major difference between good and bad carb intake, I wanted to take this opportunity to compile a list of low carb foods widely available in supermarket outlets. I understand that it is difficult for some to actively differentiate (and equally, to believe in this difference) between good and bad carbs, so for those on a low carb diet, it is better to stay away from carbohydrates completely rather than to eat some bad and some good carbs. Please contribute to this list.

1-Dream fields pasta (considered low carb because the carbs are in the form of fibre)

2-Eggs, cottage cheese (low carb high protein)

3-Most fish, like shrimp, salmon, tuna etc.

4-There are low carb breads on the market, though I do not currently recall any other than 'weight watchers' which I am sure contains added sucralose for us health fanatics.

5-An assortment of vegetables, including:

Alfalfa sprouts
Daikon
Mushrooms
Arugula
Endive
Parsley
Bok Choy
Escarole
Peppers
Celery
Fennel
Radicchi

This seems like a very scant list thus far. What am I missing? I know there must be more, aside from meat.

Edited by TheFountain, 23 January 2009 - 12:01 PM.

#2 Ben

• 2,010 posts

Posted 23 January 2009 - 01:35 PM

You should check out the whole health blog, and what its author has to say on wheat. Interesting reading.

I think the list should be the other way around with the vegetables first.

sponsored ad

• Advert
Click HERE to rent this advertising spot for NUTRITION to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 TheFountain

• Topic Starter
  • 5,362 posts

Posted 23 January 2009 - 04:29 PM

You should check out the whole health blog, and what its author has to say on wheat. Interesting reading.