Photo

Ian Clements - submission made

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Bruce Klein

• Guardian Founder
  • 8,794 posts

Posted 03 January 2004 - 12:04 AM

I hope the attachment is along the lines of what you may be interested in.

Kind regards,

Ian -- ianclements@hotmail.com

--

Ian,

Wonderful to have your submission!

I'll pass this along to the editing team, and we'll
be in touch over the coming months.

Let me know if there's anything I can do for you.

Bruce Klein
Chairman, ImmInst.org

Graphs and Final Version of Article...
found in attached documents...

Male Aerobic Fitness and Longevity

Ian Clements

This paper develops a measurable predictor of male longevity, based on aerobic fitness, which I have been using for many years now. In the absence of anything similar, and accepting the many caveats that are associated with this approach, I thought it might be useful to share this work with others. It may stimulate a better model. But whether or not it does so, I firmly believe that the underlying basis of this idea is sound. There are all too few measurable markers to enable us to know how we’re doing in moving the age of death ever later. I think this is one, to add to such as insulin & homocysteine levels: that of a numerical analysis of aerobic fitness. I am developing a similar model for females.

Aerobic fitness, as indicated by the 12’ jog test developed by Dr Cooper , is a measure of cardio-vascular health. As such, it can be considered similar to looking before you cross the road – an advisable precautionary principle to ensure you are still around to make the most of whatever longevity factors are available now and in the otherwise non-existent future.