Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Looking for Your *Best* Supplement Recommendation for Reading/Study/Re

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Midnyght134

• 3 posts

Posted 17 November 2009 - 05:36 PM

I've been looking around this (and other) forums for a while, and everyone seems to throw their stacks around. Although I may try different stacks in the future, as I have in the past, I'm looking for what you feel is your #1 contributing factor to mental clarity, focus, and memory. I know I know ... "it depends .." that's why I said BEST! I'm just interested in the community's idea of the best fit all around. Any opinions are welcome though.

I'm a programmer and I've got about 6-8 books that I want to blaze through in the next few months (500+ pages each), but I know that I'll have trouble remembering and staying focused on all that information. I need something that will lock me in and increase the "RAM" in my brain ... something that will help convert what I've just read from short term memory to long(er) term memory.

Supplements I've tried for various reasons in the past
none of these besides ephedrine has any noticable effect.
L-Theanine
Vinpocetine
L-Huperzine A (currently taking)
Piracetam
DMAE
Oxiracetam
Aniracetam
L-Tryptophan
Picamilon
Centrophenoxine
Ephedrine

Also a few premade stacks from various companies, though they mostly contain some combination of the ingredients listed above.
The ONLY premade stack that felt like it had any slight effect was BrainQuicken, but not outright noticable - and expensive.

Ones I haven't tried:
Pramiracetam
Selegiline (L-Deprenyl)
Hydergine

I'm the kind of person that was raised on caffeine. I can drink a redbull and go right to sleep. I'm looking for something that can be legally (and preferably easily in the US) obtained. I know that adderall is the best college study aid, but even if I knew where to get it, short of getting a prescription, it would be hella $$.