looks very promising!!!

Sean

www.abolitionist-society.com
  • Disagree x 1

#2 kevin

• Member, Guardian
  • 2,779 posts

Posted 03 June 2004 - 02:02 AM

It sure does Sean.. you might want to check out its discussion on Google Group sci.life-extension:

http://groups.google...8&q=mitoq&meta=

as well as http://www.imminst.o...187

quite a cool little molecule..
  • Disagree x 2

sponsored ad

• Advert
Adverts help to support LongeCity's non-profit work. To go ad-free join as Member.

#3 nootropi

• 1,207 posts

Posted 03 June 2004 - 02:32 AM

Well is it safe? What are the results of animal studies?

#4 abolitionist

• Topic Starter
  • 720 posts

Posted 03 June 2004 - 03:38 PM

I'm no expert on it, but it doesn't look like it's gone very far in terms of human or animal testing yet, let's hope it's the perfect substance to protect mtDNA :)

This is what really got my wheels spinning;

1: J Biol Chem. 2001 Feb 16;276(7):4588-96. Epub 2000 Nov 22. Related Articles, Links

Selective targeting of a redox-active ubiquinone to mitochondria within cells: antioxidant and antiapoptotic properties.

Kelso GF, Porteous CM, Coulter CV, Hughes G, Porteous WK, Ledgerwood EC, Smith RA, Murphy MP.

Departments of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Otago, Box 56, Dunedin, New Zealand.