Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo

Chewing gum (I do it. U?)

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 VidX

• 865 posts

Posted 01 March 2010 - 06:17 AM

I'm a professional gum chewer lol.. been doing that for about 10-11years almost every day (just liked to have a fresh breath, and it became a habit..).
How bad is it? (I mostly buy "Dirol"...watermelon or strawberries, mmm)

My teeth are in a pretty good condition, nothing that I'd be concerned about at the moment, esp. keeping in mind that both my parents had/have terrible teeth (which I associate with their chronic vit.D deficiency. The thing of the past now, but it's too late..).
ANy other "dangers"? They say it makes your stomach secrete acids as like you are going to eat a real food (because you salivate). Havne't had any probs with acidity in my life, almost don't know what's that, so doesn't seem like a prob too, at least yet..

Edited by VidX, 01 March 2010 - 06:19 AM.

#2 niner

• 16,276 posts

Posted 02 March 2010 - 05:11 AM

I'm a gum addict too. My great uncle sold mint to Wrigley's in the early 20th century, but the money is now flowing in the other direction.

Having something sweet in your mouth might have an effect on insulin levels. That's just a speculation. If you have amalgam fillings, constant chewing may cause more mercury mobilization. Acidic fruit gums might be erosive to teeth, though probably not a problem if teeth are healthy. Spearmint may suppress testosterone production.

There are advantages, too: Gum will make you less likely to snack or smoke. Chewing cleans the teeth when you can't brush. The act of chewing increases serotonin levels; there's probably something dopaminergic going on based on the addictiveness. That might belong in the "disadvantage" column...

#3 lunarsolarpower

• 1,323 posts

Posted 02 March 2010 - 05:27 AM

Dental advantages: