• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo
- - - - -

serotonin receptor regeneration nootropics?

• Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#1 jama

• 10 posts

Posted 12 May 2010 - 01:18 AM

hey everyone,

A while back I, unwittingly, used MDMA, a drug with neurotoxic potential. Over the course of the 18 months I used approximately 5-10 times, not more than a pill each time (probably totaled around 5-7 pills). I know this wasn't the intelligent thing to do and I'm certainly not pleased with the decision, but such is life sometimes. Prior to that, I used marijuana and alcohol throughout that time period. Since about 6 months ago I've stopped all drug use; things have gotten better. Currently, I'm a university student and I do pretty well, but I'm looking for some help. My main concern is not so much immediate cognitive improvement, but long-term health and repair--at the very least, attenuation. If anyone on this thread has any experience on the topic of serotonergic regeneration (the damage, if present, is not extensive), and particular nootropics/herbal supplements that may encourage such a process, I'd be very grateful. A few considerations of my own: St John's Wort, Ashwagandha, Gotu Kola, Bacopa. I'm already taking fish oil and exercising. Thanks.

#2 medievil

• Guest Guest
  • 3,758 posts

Posted 12 May 2010 - 04:40 AM

Its higly unlikely you did any damage with that small MDMA use. Blame alcohol and weed instead.

sponsored ad

• Advert
Click HERE to rent this advertising spot for BRAIN HEALTH to support LongeCity (this will replace the google ad above).

#3 medievil

• Guest Guest
  • 3,758 posts

Posted 12 May 2010 - 04:11 PM

To go further in my previous reply, was in a hurry this morning:

However, recent studies have found that the relationship between ecstasy use and psychological symptoms was no longer significant after controlling for marijuana use (e.g., Morgan et al., 2002).