• Create Account
  LongeCity
              Advocacy & Research for Unlimited Lifespans

Photo
- - - - -

Cheap, safe and long-term effective nootropics?

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 aLurker

• 715 posts

Posted 22 June 2010 - 03:40 PM

So I'm looking for nootropics which are:
1) Cheap: low monthly cost.
2) Safe: well tolerated, rare and fairly benign side effects.
3) Effective long-term: some evidence for nootropic effects shown by studies, at least some users have long-term success without cycling to avoid tolerance.

Considering this pretty steep wish-list; what are your recommendations?

P.S.
Personally I often have problems with side effects from medication and herbs. I'm currently a student which is why budget is an issue. My main problems are motivation and energy although considering my intellectual vanity other nootropic effects such as concentration and memory are certainly welcome too.

I started Piracetam yesterday which on paper seems to hit all three points (though I'm a little tired and I have a terrible headache today despite eating lots of eggs). I'm considering ALCAR next which seems very promising according to my research.

The other racetams looks a tad expensive for my taste even though I'm intrigued by their reported effects.
I've tried Bacopa for a few months but felt lethargic, depressed and demotivated by it. I've tried Rhodiola which seems to improve my mood and energy though I haven't found any really cheap source for it. Also considering Eluthero if I can find a good source.
D.S.

#2 babcock

• 299 posts

Posted 22 June 2010 - 04:03 PM

ALCAR, this is the best supplement in my regimen.
Caffeine (always in moderation).